woman of achievement awards

YWCA Central Carolinas Woman of Achievement awards recognize women who have demonstrated leadership in Charlotte by promoting social justice. We give awards each year for three categories: Pioneer, a mature woman who has exemplified a lifetime commitment to promoting social justice; Community Champion, an established woman currently working at the forefront of social change; and an Emerging Leader, a woman of the rising generation who will lead our community forward.

2016 Women of Achievement Nominations are now closed. The awards will be presented at our Donor Appreciation event October 20, 2016. This event is invitation only. 

Past winners include:

Mary Lou and Jim Babb
Sarah Bryant
Antonia Childs
Carrie Cook
Kristina Cruise
Sarah Belk Gambrell
Nakisha Hall 
Dr. Maria Hanlin
Elizabeth (Lib) Harkey
Carlenia Ivory
Renee Jarrett 
Cynthia Marshall
LaWana Mayfield
Jane McIntyre
Mary Nell McPherson
Deronda Metz
Melissa Mummert
Dr. Amy Hawn Nelson
Jan Valder Offerman
Sally Robinson
Dr. Jessica Schorr Saxe
Sarah Stevenson
Claire Tate
Charlotte Watkins
Velva Woollen
Marian Yates


Learn more, get engaged, empower others, empower yourself